Dedicated to the Promotion of Electric Propulsion in all types of Aeromodeling

And the Award Goes to. . .

By Steve Manganelli

Those not at the banquet and those not involved with T-28 racing missed out on award presentations to two of our Club Heros. Let me back up a bit to Fall of 2022 where the BOD voted to create a perpetual award to be handed out at the Banquet to a non-BOD member making the greatest contribution to the operation of the Club during the previous year. I coined the name “Founders Trophy” the intent being that it will presented by one of the original founding members of the Club to convey our appreciation.

At the banquet, I was most pleased to be able to present the trophy to Mr. Dennis LaBerge whose contributions toward maintaining the field are innumerable and exemplary: Thanks so much Dennis! Dennis also received a plaque commemorating the occasion which is his forever, but the Cup/Trophy he has to surrender at the 2024 banquet to be awarded to the member making the greatest contribution in 2023. Who’s that going to be, you?

Those at the banquet were privy to Frank Sutton’s pictorial essay of our previous year thus know what a great photographer he is, but did you know he does medals too? A couple of year ago, it was decided that “cheesy” medals would be a appropriate recognition  for T-28 racing Gold-Silver-Bronze Cup winners. Then later, I discovered that a custom picture insert could be included for only a little more money and I of course turned to Frank for the artwork. For this year, we decided that a T-28 appearing to be hitting a pylon and a tree was the perfect homage to T-28 racing.  Below is me presenting the first 2023 T-28 to it’s artist, Mr. Frank Sutton. Thanks for all your hard work, Frank!